David Hertz Architects FAIA & The Studio of Environmental Architecture

World Surf League Trophy

world surf league trophy

Celebrating the historic 40th anniversary of the World Surf League Championship, SEA designed a new trophy that alludes to the arc of a perfect wave and the fin of a surfboard. The pewter metal body incorporates sand from the home beaches of each of the past champions, and select panels of sustainably sourced Hawaiian Koa wood comprise the base. Every name of the preceding champions are inscribed inside each trophy bowl, and the names of victorious surfers will be inscribed on the outer surface.

Project Details

Year: 2015
Project Team: Chris Penfold, Shane King, David Hertz

The new WSL trophies pay homage to 40 years of past champions.

Posted by World Surf League on Tuesday, 8 March 2016
Steph Gilmore, 2018 Women's WSL Champion

Stephanie Gilmore wins 2018 Women’s World Championship title.
Posted by USA Today on November 30, 2018

Gabriel Medina, 2018 Men's WSL Champion

Gabriel Medina wins 2018 Men’s World Championship title.
Posted by Rede do Esporto on December 18, 2018

John John Florence, 2x WSL World Champion

John John goes back to back.
Posted by Future Fins on December 20, 2017